Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales

Vale of Clwyd

Welsh Assembly constituency Region - North Wales
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Ann Jones Votes 9,560 39.5% Net percentage change in seats −11.2


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Sam Rowlands Votes 8,792 36.4% Net percentage change in seats +3.0


UKIP Wales

Candidates Paul Davies-Cooke Votes 2,975 12.3% Net percentage change in seats +12.3


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Mair Rowlands Votes 2,098 8.7% Net percentage change in seats −2.6


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Gwyn Williams Votes 758 3.1% Net percentage change in seats −1.6

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 39.5
Welsh Conservative 36.4
UKIP Wales 12.3
Plaid Cymru 8.7
Welsh Liberal Democrat 3.1

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Liberal Democrat
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Labour

Constituency Profile

The Vale of Clwyd is a tract of low-lying ground in the county of Denbighshire in northeast Wales.

At its seaward end are the coastal resorts of Rhyl and Prestatyn whilst the town of St Asaph lies just inland. Employment along the coast is mainly seasonal and the western half of Rhyl is one of the most deprived wards in Wales. But 5.4% of people were unemployed between October 2014 and September 2015, compared to the UK average of 5.5% for the same period. 14% of people living in the area during the same period were retired, the same as the average for Great Britain.

Some 10,000 people work in the public sector. Ann Jones has held the seat since the first elections for the National Assembly for Wales in 1999. In 2011 Labour won 50.7% of the vote, the Conservatives had 33%, Plaid Cymru 11% and the Liberal Democrats 4%.

Back to top