Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales


Welsh Assembly constituency Region - North Wales
Result: PC HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Sian Gwenllian Votes 10,962 54.8% Net percentage change in seats −1.9


Welsh Labour

Candidates Sion Jones Votes 6,800 34.0% Net percentage change in seats +7.8


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Martin Peet Votes 1,655 8.3% Net percentage change in seats −4.2


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Sara Lloyd Williams Votes 577 2.9% Net percentage change in seats −1.6

Turnout and Majority

Plaid Cymru Majority




Vote share

Party %
Plaid Cymru 54.8
Welsh Labour 34.0
Welsh Conservative 8.3
Welsh Liberal Democrat 2.9

Vote share change since 2011

Welsh Labour
Welsh Liberal Democrat
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Conservative

Constituency Profile

Arfon is situated in north-west Wales.

It is based around the historic town of Caernarfon - site of the investiture of the Prince of Wales in 1969 - and the university city of Bangor. Tourism and the public sector are major employers, and there is also a thriving media sector based around Bangor. The high student population means the seat has a different demographic profile to other constituencies on the north Wales coast - 17% of the population are aged 65 or over, compared to 26% in neighbouring Aberconwy.

At Westminster, the old Caernarfon seat had been a Plaid Cymru stronghold since it was won by Dafydd Wigley in the February 1974 election. The new Arfon constituency was created in time for the 2007 Assembly elections. Plaid Cymru's Alun Ffred Jones won the seat then with 52% of the vote. In 2011, he won it again for Plaid Cymru with 56% of the vote. Labour came second with 26%, the Conservatives were third with 12% and the Liberal Democrats fourth with 4%.

Back to top