Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Party Elected Seats Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Conservatives

Elected Miles Briggs Gordon Lindhurst Jeremy Balfour Seats 3 Votes 74,972 22.9% Net percentage change in seats +11.3


Scottish Labour

Elected Kezia Dugdale Neil Findlay Seats 2 Votes 67,991 20.8% Net percentage change in seats −4.1


Scottish Green Party

Elected Alison Johnstone Andy Wightman Seats 2 Votes 34,551 10.6% Net percentage change in seats +3.0


Scottish National Party

Elected - Seats 0 Votes 118,546 36.2% Net percentage change in seats −2.9


Scottish Lib Dems

Elected - Seats 0 Votes 18,479 5.6% Net percentage change in seats +0.1



Elected - Seats 0 Votes 5,802 1.8% Net percentage change in seats +1.1


Women's Equality Party

Elected - Seats 0 Votes 3,877 1.2% Net percentage change in seats +1.2



Elected - Seats 0 Votes 1,641 0.5% Net percentage change in seats +0.5



Elected - Seats 0 Votes 1,319 0.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.3




Latest updates

Watch: Johnstone and Wightman elected for Greens

Scottish Greens Alison Johnstone and Andy Wightman have been elected via the Lothian list.

Responding to the result, Johnstone, health spokesperson for the party, said:

"I'm delighted to be re-elected to serve Lothian and look forward to continuing to bring constructive pressure to bear in parliament, building on the work I've already done on everything from fracking and planning issues to community ownership and health inequalities.

"I'm delighted we have doubled our representation in Lothian. Andy and I look forward to keeping up the pressure in parliament on the issues that matter."

Alison Johnstone
Scottish Greens
View more on twitter

Watch: Lothian region MSPs take to the stage

Morag Kinniburgh

BBC Scotland

Nervy Greens

Morag Kinniburgh

BBC Scotland

"Greens say it's too close to say whether they'll have two MSPs on Lothian list."

Lothian list expected at 05:35

From BBC Scotland's David Miller

What time will a result be declared?

Based on the 2011 Holyrood election results, the estimated declaration time for this constituency is between 05:00 and 08:00.  

Watch this space

Visit this page for the latest updates, articles and videos about this region in the run-up to the Scottish Parliament Election, and for results from 10pm on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Scottish Parliament

Region Profile

The Lothians region features nine constituencies - Almond Valley; Edinburgh Central; Edinburgh Eastern; Edinburgh Northern and Leith; Edinburgh Pentlands; Edinburgh Southern; Edinburgh Western; Linlithgow; Midlothian North and Musselburgh.

This region includes Scotland’s capital Edinburgh, which is home to the Scottish Parliament and the heartbeat of the country’s finance and banking sector.

At the 2011 Holyrood election, of the seven seats up for grabs, three went to Labour, two were allocated to the Tories, one was taken by the Scottish Greens and one to independent candidate Margo MacDonald who died in April 2014.

Back to top