Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Strathkelvin and Bearsden

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - West Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Rona MacKay Votes 17,060 43.5% Net percentage change in seats +1.3


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Andrew Polson Votes 8,960 22.9% Net percentage change in seats +9.7


Scottish Labour

Candidates Margaret McCarthy Votes 8,288 21.1% Net percentage change in seats −15.8


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Katy Gordon Votes 4,880 12.5% Net percentage change in seats +4.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 43.5
Scottish Conservatives 22.9
Scottish Labour 21.1
Scottish Lib Dems 12.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The eastern reaches of Bearsden - which is an affluent middle-class suburb lying five miles north-west of Glasgow - feature in this constituency. The seat also contains part of Bishopbriggs and Kirkintilloch, once centres for coal mining and metal founding.

Most of these traditional heavy industries are long gone, and the main sources of work are now found in book-publishing, construction, transport and agriculture, as well as in a growing number of firms in the light-industrial sector.

Sam Galbraith won the Holyrood seat for Labour in 1999 but stood down for health reasons in 2001. The by-election was held on the same day as the Westminster elections and Brian Fitzpatrick, former chief of staff to Scotland's first first minister Donald Dewar, took the seat. Retired local GP Dr Jean Turner then took the seat as an independent in the 2003 election. Labour Pre-took the seat at the 2007 Holyrood election, but lost it to the SNP's Fiona McLeod in 2011.

Back to top