Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Highlands and Islands
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Kate Forbes Votes 17,362 47.6% Net percentage change in seats +1.4


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Angela MacLean Votes 8,319 22.8% Net percentage change in seats −7.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Robbie Munro Votes 5,887 16.1% Net percentage change in seats +7.2


Scottish Labour

Candidates Linda Stewart Votes 3,821 10.5% Net percentage change in seats −2.4



Candidates Ronnie Campbell Votes 1,116 3.1% Net percentage change in seats +1.5

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 47.6
Scottish Lib Dems 22.8
Scottish Conservatives 16.1
Scottish Labour 10.5
Independent 3.1

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems

Constituency Profile

This constituency was constructed from boundary changes in 2011. On the mainland it stretches from Mallaig on the west coast through the Great Glen to the Cromarty Firth. It takes in some of Scotland's greatest scenery and climbing challenges. Fort William, Loch Ness, Ben Nevis, the Cairngorms and the Aviemore ski resort are just some of its features.

Geographically, this is one of Scotland's biggest constituencies. As its name suggests, the it also features the Isle of Skye. The island, which has tourism at its heart, made headlines following the abolition of the toll on the Skye Bridge, which was for a long time a source of friction and controversy for local people. Other west coast islands are part of this seat, including Rum and Eigg.

In the former Ross, Skye & Inverness seat Lib Dem John Farquhar Munro won in 1999, 2003 and 2007. The 76-year-old did not seek re-election in 2001, and Dave Thompson won for the SNP.

Back to top