Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Glasgow


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Clare Haughey Votes 15,222 46.2% Net percentage change in seats +6.7


Scottish Labour

Candidates James Kelly Votes 11,479 34.8% Net percentage change in seats −11.2


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Taylor Muir Votes 3,718 11.3% Net percentage change in seats +3.5


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Robert Brown Votes 2,533 7.7% Net percentage change in seats +3.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 46.2
Scottish Labour 34.8
Scottish Conservatives 11.3
Scottish Lib Dems 7.7

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Rutherglen was once a burgh - the oldest in Scotland - until local government reorganisation in 1975, and lies to the south east of Glasgow city centre. The name Rutherglen is said to come from Gaelic for "reddish glen" after the red clay found here.

At its northern border it blends into Glasgow's suburbs, though the town has always striven to maintain a distinct identity from Glasgow, which it predates by 500 years. The seat includes not only Rutherglen itself but also the town of Cambuslang, Burnside and the housing scheme at Fernhill, as well as Blantyre, all of which lie within the local government control of South Lanarkshire. Steel and pottery have been major industries in the past, but both have been in decline.

Janis Hughes won the seat for the Labour Party in the 1999 and 2003 elections. James Kelly then held the seat in 2007 and 2011.

Back to top