Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Renfrewshire South

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - West Scotland


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Tom Arthur Votes 14,272 48.1% Net percentage change in seats +9.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Paul O'Kane Votes 9,864 33.2% Net percentage change in seats −14.8


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Ann Le Blond Votes 4,752 16.0% Net percentage change in seats +5.2


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Tristan Gray Votes 793 2.7% Net percentage change in seats +0.1

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 48.1
Scottish Labour 33.2
Scottish Conservatives 16.0
Scottish Lib Dems 2.7

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

This is a new constituency, created in 2011, whose towns and villages grew up around housing estates formed during the industrial revolution. Its industry of old consisted of small-scale coal mining and larger-scale thread and cotton factories powered by the Black Cart Water, running north of Johnstone.

The seat has within its boundaries the villages of Elderslie - which is reputed to be the birthplace of Sir William Wallace - and Kilbarchan where Scottish political activist Mary Barbour was born. She led the Glasgow rent strike of 1915 and later became the city's first woman councillor. Renfrewshire Council, with its headquarters in Paisley, is the local authority which covers most of the constituency.

Labour's Hugh Henry won the old Paisley South seat in 1999, 2003, 2007 and once again in 2011. He chose not to contest the seat at the 2016 election as he retired from politics.

Back to top