Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Derek MacKay Votes 14,718 47.8% Net percentage change in seats +5.9


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates David Wilson Votes 7,345 23.8% Net percentage change in seats +3.9


Scottish Labour

Candidates Mary Fee Votes 7,244 23.5% Net percentage change in seats −12.7


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Rod Ackland Votes 888 2.9% Net percentage change in seats +0.9



Candidates Jim Halfpenny Votes 414 1.3% Net percentage change in seats +1.3



Candidates Peter Morton Votes 198 0.6% Net percentage change in seats +0.6

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 47.8
Scottish Conservatives 23.8
Scottish Labour 23.5
Scottish Lib Dems 2.9
TUSC 1.3

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Latest updates

SNP hold

Derek Mackay was elected MSP for Renfrewshire North & West in May 2011.

He served in the Scottish Government as Minister for Transport and Islands (appointed November 2014) having previously served as Minister for Local Government & Planning. (December 2011-November 2014).

Derek is currently SNP Business Convener (chairman of the party), responsible for chairing Conference, the National Executive and the management and administration of the party.

Derek MacKay

Turnout up

Sally McNair

BBC Scotland

The turnout in all 3 constituency counts at Braehead Arena - Paisley, Renfrewshire North & West and Renfrewshire South - all higher than in 2011

Votes ahead of schedule

We're hearing that in about 10 minutes time we could get the turnout figure (before spoilt papers are removed) for Paisley, Renfrewshire South and Renfrewshire North and West.

Also, the results for the FPTP and list votes could be up to 30 minutes ahead of schedule.

400 staff on floor at Braehead

Sally McNair

BBC Scotland

Counting well underway at the ice rink turned counting station at Braehead in Renfrewshire. The final ballot boxes aren't expected to arrive until midnight. First result - probably Paisley - expected around 3:30 if there are no hitches. Extra counting staff here after a late finish last time. Around 400 staff on floor.

What time will a result be declared?

Based on the 2011 Holyrood election results, the estimated declaration time for this constituency is between 05:00 and 08:00.  

The Braehead Arena ready for the count.

Tony Nellany

BBC Scotland

Braehead Arena

BBC Scotland's Pacific Quay headquarters preparing for election coverage

Final preparations underway at Pacific Quay, as BBC Scotland gets ready to begin its election coverage at 10.30pm. 

BBC Pacific Quay

Constituency Profile

The northern boundaries of this constituency hug the Clyde River and take in the historic town of Renfrew, the pre-1975 centre of local government for the county of Renfrewshire.

The constituency has within its boundaries Bishopton, home to the now defunct WWII-built Royal Ordnance factory. The land it stood on became the focus of controversy in 2008 when Renfrewshire Council granted planning permission for a housing development. As traditional industries have died in the area, new business has flourished. Renfrew's Braehead on the south of the water is a well-developed commercial enterprise featuring a large shopping centre and leisure facilities. The constituency also has within its boundaries Glasgow Airport.

Labour's Trish Godman was elected to the old Renfrewshire West seat in 1999 and again in 2003 and 2007. The SNP took the constituency with Derek MacKay in 2011, and he went on to be appointed Minister for Transport.

Back to top