Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Perthshire South and Kinross-shire

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Roseanna Cunningham Votes 15,315 42.4% Net percentage change in seats −9.1


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Liz Smith Votes 13,893 38.4% Net percentage change in seats +9.9


Scottish Labour

Candidates Scott Nicholson Votes 3,389 9.4% Net percentage change in seats −3.4


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Willie Robertson Votes 3,008 8.3% Net percentage change in seats +1.1


Stronger Community Party

Candidates Craig Finlay Votes 544 1.5% Net percentage change in seats +1.5

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 42.4
Scottish Conservatives 38.4
Scottish Labour 9.4
Scottish Lib Dems 8.3
Stronger Community Party 1.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Stronger Community Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour
Scottish National Party

Constituency Profile

This is a relatively prosperous, largely rural, lowland constituency on the fringe of the Highlands with successful livestock and fruit-growing sectors reliant on its good soil quality.

The beautiful scenery also attracts tourism, and the constituency as a whole enjoys relatively low unemployment. A sizeable amount of the electorate lives in the city of Perth while other towns in the constituency include Auchterarder, Crieff, and Bridge of Earn. Kinross was added to the constituency in the border review of 2011.

The Tories held Perth's predecessor seats at Westminster for most of the post-war period. But in the 1995 by-election, the SNP's Roseanna Cunningham won through and retained the seat at the 1997 General Election. She went on to be elected to Holyrood when the Scottish Parliament was formed in 1999, and was returned in 2003, 2007 and again in 2011.

Back to top