Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Perthshire North

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates John Swinney Votes 16,526 48.6% Net percentage change in seats −12.3


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Murdo Fraser Votes 13,190 38.8% Net percentage change in seats +12.5


Scottish Labour

Candidates Anna McEwan Votes 2,604 7.7% Net percentage change in seats −1.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Peter Barrett Votes 1,705 5.0% Net percentage change in seats +1.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 48.6
Scottish Conservatives 38.8
Scottish Labour 7.7
Scottish Lib Dems 5.0

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour
Scottish National Party

Constituency Profile

This is a beautiful part of Scotland which is popular with tourists and includes a host of famous place-names, including Pitlochry, Blair Atholl and Blairgowrie. The southern borders of the constituency near Perth are where most of the population lives. Further inland there are large forests, lochs and mountainous terrain. As a result, tourism, agriculture and forestry are the main industries here.

The eastern edges of Perth appear in the seat and its boundary hugs the coast along the Firth of Tay to just outside Invergowrie.

The SNP's John Swinney took the seat in the Scottish election of 1999, and held a dual mandate with his role as Tayside North MP until 2001. He was elected leader of the party in the autumn of 2000, following Alex Salmond's resignation and served in that post until 2004. Mr Swinney was re-elected to the Holyrood seat in 2003, 2007 and again in 2011.

Back to top