Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Highlands and Islands
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Richard Lochhead Votes 15,742 47.1% Net percentage change in seats −11.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Douglas Ross Votes 12,867 38.5% Net percentage change in seats +18.0


Scottish Labour

Candidates Sean Morton Votes 3,547 10.6% Net percentage change in seats −1.9


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Jamie Paterson Votes 1,265 3.8% Net percentage change in seats −0.9

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 47.1
Scottish Conservatives 38.5
Scottish Labour 10.6
Scottish Lib Dems 3.8

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour
Scottish National Party

Constituency Profile

The local economy in the rural and coastal seat of Moray relies on farming, forestry and fishing. It is also at the heart of whisky country, with distilleries producing the Speyside malts Glenlivet, Dufftown, Aberlour, Knockando and Balvenie.

The largest conurbation in the seat is Elgin, a market town that is visited each year by large numbers of tourists. Another pull for visitors is the Findhorn Foundation, a holistic community that attracts people from all over the world.

In 1999, the SNP’s Margaret Ewing secured her seat at Holyrood alongside husband Fergus and her mother-in-law Winnie (herself formerly a Moray MP). She regained the seat in 2003 but after being diagnosed with cancer she died in March 2006. The subsequent by-election saw a contest between two sitting MSPs, Tory Mary Scanlon, and the SNP's Richard Lochhead, both of whom had to resign their list seats to fight for the constituency. In that by-election Mr Lochhead won and he retained the seat at both the 2007 and the 2011 Holyrood elections.

Back to top