Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Christine Grahame Votes 16,031 45.1% Net percentage change in seats +1.5


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Michelle Ballantyne Votes 10,163 28.6% Net percentage change in seats +16.8


Scottish Labour

Candidates Fiona Dugdale Votes 5,701 16.0% Net percentage change in seats −0.7


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Kris Chapman Votes 3,686 10.4% Net percentage change in seats −17.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 45.1
Scottish Conservatives 28.6
Scottish Labour 16.0
Scottish Lib Dems 10.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems

Constituency Profile

The largest towns in this seat are Penicuik, Galashiels and Peebles. The economy in the area was until recent years dependent on textiles, an industry that has now declined. However, despite that decline, unemployment remains below the national average.

The constituency saw the new Borders railway being opened by the Queen in September 2015. It links Borders towns from Tweedbank to Edinburgh. It is hoped the link will act as a catalyst for economic growth right across the south of Scotland.

The Liberal Democrats’ Ian Jenkins took the seat in the first Holyrood election of 1999. When he stood down, his Lib Dem colleague Jeremy Purvis won the Tweedale, Ettrick and Lauderdale constituency in 2003 and 2007. The seat swung to the SNP in 2011 and Christine Grahame now represents the area at Holyrood.

Back to top