Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Midlothian North and Musselburgh

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Lothian
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Colin Beattie Votes 16,948 48.9% Net percentage change in seats +1.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Bernard Harkins Votes 9,913 28.6% Net percentage change in seats −8.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Jeremy Balfour Votes 6,267 18.1% Net percentage change in seats +9.5


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Jacquie Bell Votes 1,557 4.5% Net percentage change in seats +0.3

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 48.9
Scottish Labour 28.6
Scottish Conservatives 18.1
Scottish Lib Dems 4.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The large East Lothian town of Musselburgh sits in this constituency and is about six miles east of the centre of Edinburgh and sits on the Firth of Forth coast. It is famous for its racecourse and its links golf course and the private Loretto boarding school.

The area was defined by coalfields and mining. While they have declined, new industries sprouted including electronics and crystal-glass manufacturing. Tourists travelling through the seat are attracted to sites such as Dalkeith Palace and the famous Rosslyn Chapel. Many workers also commute from the area into Edinburgh.

Labour’s Rhona Brankin won the seat at the Holyrood elections of 1999, 2003 and 2007. However, the constituency went to the SNP’s Colin Beattie in the 2011 Scottish Parliament election.

Back to top