Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Mid Fife and Glenrothes

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Jenny Gilruth Votes 15,555 54.5% Net percentage change in seats +2.2


Scottish Labour

Candidates Kay Morrison Votes 7,279 25.5% Net percentage change in seats −10.9


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Alex Stewart-Clark Votes 4,427 15.5% Net percentage change in seats +9.1


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Jane Ann Liston Votes 1,286 4.5% Net percentage change in seats +2.1

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 54.5
Scottish Labour 25.5
Scottish Conservatives 15.5
Scottish Lib Dems 4.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The town of Glenrothes is at the heart of this constituency. In the 1970s and 80s it became a major industrial centre for electronics and hi-tech companies. Off-shore oil industries have also been important to the local economy.

The town is the administrative capital of Fife. The constituency goes beyond the southern boundaries of Glenrothes and incorporates the more rural Thornton area.

Henry McLeish, the former first minister, was MP for the old Fife Central seat from 1987 to 2001, and became its MSP in 1999. He did not contest the seat in 2003 but it remained in Labour hands following Christine May’s win. However, the political winds of change brought in the SNP’s Tricia Marwick who won the Central Fife seat at the 2007 Holyrood election, and held it again in 2011. She retires this time, having served the fourth parliamentary term as presiding officer.

Back to top