Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Lothian
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Fiona Hyslop Votes 19,362 50.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Angela Boyd Moohan Votes 10,027 26.1% Net percentage change in seats −11.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Charles Kennedy Votes 7,699 20.0% Net percentage change in seats +12.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Dan Farthing-Sykes Votes 1,319 3.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.5

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 50.4
Scottish Labour 26.1
Scottish Conservatives 20.0
Scottish Lib Dems 3.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Linlithgow is a residential town west of Edinburgh many of whose inhabitants commute into the capital.

It is a town with a rich history and was the birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots. The area’s connection to Mary and its historic buildings, such as Linlithgow Palace, make it a popular tourist attraction. The rest of the seat contains former shale-mining areas and includes the towns of Armadale, Blackburn and Whitburn. Scattered around these small towns are agriculture-based villages. More than 1,500 jobs were lost in Broxburn following the closure of the meat factory there.

Labour’s Mary Mulligan secured the seat at the first Scottish Parliament election in 1999 and went on to retain it in 2003 and 2007. Then the political wind of change blew in 2011, and Fiona Hyslop took it for the SNP.

Back to top