Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates David Torrance Votes 16,358 52.6% Net percentage change in seats +7.3


Scottish Labour

Candidates Claire Baker Votes 8,963 28.8% Net percentage change in seats −15.8


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Martin Laidlaw Votes 4,568 14.7% Net percentage change in seats +7.5


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Lauren Jones Votes 1,219 3.9% Net percentage change in seats +1.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 52.6
Scottish Labour 28.8
Scottish Conservatives 14.7
Scottish Lib Dems 3.9

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Kirkcaldy is a coastal seat that includes once-popular seaside resorts. Although smaller pockets of Buckhaven and East Wemyss are on the coast, the area is largely industrial in character.

The town of Kirkcaldy, which once had a large fishing fleet and is the birthplace of economist Adam Smith, is the largest town in Fife. Most employment is in heavy and light industries. However decline in these industries has led to above-average unemployment. The industrial port of Methil also features in this constituency.

Labour’s Marilyn Livingstone won the seat at Holyrood in 1999, 2003 and 2007. The SNP’s David Torrance was elected in 2011.

Back to top