Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Willie Coffey Votes 19,047 55.4% Net percentage change in seats +2.1


Scottish Labour

Candidates Dave Meechan Votes 7,853 22.8% Net percentage change in seats −11.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Brian Whittle Votes 6,597 19.2% Net percentage change in seats +8.8


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Rebecca Plenderleith Votes 888 2.6% Net percentage change in seats +0.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 55.4
Scottish Labour 22.8
Scottish Conservatives 19.2
Scottish Lib Dems 2.6

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Kilmarnock is by far the largest town in this constituency and is home to both heavy and light engineering plants and meat-canning factories.

The smaller towns east of Kilmarnock, namely Galston, Hurlford, Newmilns and Darvel, grew up on textile manufacturing, carpet, knitwear and the shoe industries. Unemployment here is higher than the average for Scotland and the Johnnie Walker whisky bottling factory closed in 2012. The seat is famously associated with Alexander Fleming, who was born in Darvel, and discovered the antibiotic penicillin. This part of Ayrshire is also associated with poet Robert Burns, whose first book of poems was published in Kilmarnock.

Labour’s Margaret Jamieson had been the victor in the 1999 and 2003 elections. In 2007, the SNP’s Willie Coffey won the seat – which was reconfigured under boundary changes, and he retained it in Scottish Parliament election of 2011.

Back to top