Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Inverness and Nairn

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Highlands and Islands
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Fergus Ewing Votes 18,505 48.3% Net percentage change in seats −3.2


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Edward Mountain Votes 7,648 20.0% Net percentage change in seats +8.4


Scottish Labour

Candidates David Stewart Votes 6,719 17.5% Net percentage change in seats −4.2


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Carolyn Caddick Votes 5,445 14.2% Net percentage change in seats +2.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 48.3
Scottish Conservatives 20.0
Scottish Labour 17.5
Scottish Lib Dems 14.2

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Geographically, at the centre of this seat is the River Spey, which supports vibrant salmon and whisky industries.

At the northern reaches of the constituency is the city of Inverness. Secondary parts of the off-shore oil industry are found around this northern hub. About 16 miles east of Inverness is the former fishing port and market town of Nairn which is home to two golf courses.

When the Scottish Parliament was created in 1999, Fergus Ewing, son of the famous SNP MP Winnie Ewing, won the seat for the nationalists. Mr Ewing regained the seat in 2003, in 2007 and again in 2011.

Back to top