Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Glasgow


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Bob Doris Votes 13,109 55.5% Net percentage change in seats +13.7


Scottish Labour

Candidates Patricia Ferguson Votes 7,507 31.8% Net percentage change in seats −16.3


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates John Anderson Votes 2,305 9.8% Net percentage change in seats +3.8


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates James Harrison Votes 691 2.9% Net percentage change in seats −1.1

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 55.5
Scottish Labour 31.8
Scottish Conservatives 9.8
Scottish Lib Dems 2.9

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Maryhill is a residential seat in the north west of the city but borders the centre at its southern extreme, where it takes in the Botanic Gardens, the 1873 built park which houses several glasshouses.

The housing is mixed. The River Kelvin runs through the northern part of the constituency and there is evidence of the Roman stone-built Antonine Wall. The Springburn area, which forms part of the constituency, developed during the industrial revolution and became a centre for railway works. The largest concentration of Chinese people in Scotland lives here, although they still account for less than 1 in 100 of the population.

Patricia Ferguson won the Scottish Parliament seat for Labour in 1999. She retained the seat in 2003, 2007 and 2011.

Back to top