Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Glasgow Kelvin

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Glasgow
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Sandra White Votes 10,964 38.5% Net percentage change in seats −4.8


Scottish Green Party

Candidates Patrick Harvie Votes 6,916 24.3% Net percentage change in seats +24.3


Scottish Labour

Candidates Michael Shanks Votes 5,968 21.0% Net percentage change in seats −18.8


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Sheila Mechan Votes 3,346 11.8% Net percentage change in seats +4.2


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Carole Ford Votes 1,050 3.7% Net percentage change in seats −4.0



Candidates Tom Muirhead Votes 198 0.7% Net percentage change in seats −1.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 38.5
Scottish Green Party 24.3
Scottish Labour 21.0
Scottish Conservatives 11.8
Scottish Lib Dems 3.7

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Green Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The whole of Glasgow city centre is contained in the seat. It also features Glasgow University, Strathclyde University and Glasgow Caledonian University.

To the east of the constituency, the Merchant City contains many flats converted from disused cotton and tobacco warehouses and is a symbol of the area’s bid to modernise. The seat, which no longer features the BAE shipyard at Scotstoun, is the most prosperous one in Glasgow. Kelvin's predecessor seat, Glasgow Hillhead, was the last Conservative constituency in Glasgow until Roy Jenkins won it for the SDP at a Westminster by-election in 1982.

He held it at the 1983 general election but it was then taken by Labour’s George Galloway, who remained Kelvin’s representative at Westminster until he headed south in 2005. Labour’s Pauline McNeill represented the Glasgow Kelvin seat from 1999 to 2011 when she lost it to the SNP’s Sandra White.

Back to top