Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Glasgow Anniesland

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Glasgow
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Bill Kidd Votes 15,007 51.7% Net percentage change in seats +8.5


Scottish Labour

Candidates Bill Butler Votes 8,854 30.5% Net percentage change in seats −12.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Adam Tomkins Votes 4,057 14.0% Net percentage change in seats +5.6


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates James Speirs Votes 1,098 3.8% Net percentage change in seats −0.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 51.7
Scottish Labour 30.5
Scottish Conservatives 14.0
Scottish Lib Dems 3.8

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The constituency is situated on the north-western outskirts of Glasgow, stretching from Drumchapel on the western boundary with Clydebank to Whiteinch on the River Clyde.

The public housing estate of Drumchapel is an area of multiple social problems and economic deprivation, which has undergone some regeneration. Although the BAE shipyard at Scotstoun is found in the constituency, Anniesland is more residential than industrial seat. One of the top secondaries in Scotland is in this constituency, Jordanhill College.

This Holyrood seat was held by First Minister and Labour leader Donald Dewar before his sudden death in 2000. Mr Dewar had been a politician in the area since 1978. Labour’s Bill Butler won the by-election to Holyrood following the death of Mr Dewar. He retained it at the 2003 and 2007 Holyrood elections. In 2011 Bill Kidd won the seat by seven votes for the SNP.

Back to top