Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Galloway and West Dumfries

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: CON HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Finlay Carson Votes 14,527 43.5% Net percentage change in seats +6.6


Scottish National Party

Candidates Aileen McLeod Votes 13,013 39.0% Net percentage change in seats +5.0


Scottish Labour

Candidates Fiona O'Donnell Votes 4,876 14.6% Net percentage change in seats −11.9


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Andrew Metcalf Votes 947 2.8% Net percentage change in seats +0.3

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Conservatives Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Conservatives 43.5
Scottish National Party 39.0
Scottish Labour 14.6
Scottish Lib Dems 2.8

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The seat occupies territory in the south west corner of Scotland and features a diverse landscape of hills, valleys and the Solway coast. Agriculture, forestry and tourism are the mainstays of the economy. The port of Stranraer is in the seat which also includes the towns of Kirkcudbright, Castle Douglas and the Scottish national book town, Wigtown.

The SNP's Alasdair Morgan won the Westminster seat of Galloway & Upper Nithsdale from Tory cabinet minister Ian Lang at the 1997 General Election which saw Scotland return no Conservative MPs.

In 1999, Mr Morgan stood for Holyrood and was elected MSP. In 2003 Alex Fergusson won the seat back for the Tories and retained it in 2007. Mr Fergusson went on to become presiding officer of Holyrood, and again retained his seat in 2011. He is stepping down this time.

Back to top