Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Falkirk West

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Central Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Michael Matheson Votes 18,260 56.9% Net percentage change in seats +1.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Mandy Telford Votes 6,980 21.8% Net percentage change in seats −13.2


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Alison Harris Votes 5,877 18.3% Net percentage change in seats +10.9


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Gillian Cole-Hamilton Votes 966 3.0% Net percentage change in seats +0.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 56.9
Scottish Labour 21.8
Scottish Conservatives 18.3
Scottish Lib Dems 3.0

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Set in Scotland's old industrial heartland, the Falkirk West seat takes in the town of the same name and stretches west to include Denny, Stenhousemuir and Banknock. Most heavy industry has gone, the last distillery closed and more people are now employed in the service sector than in manufacturing.

There is growing tourism, stimulated by the Falkirk Wheel at the intersection of the Forth and Clyde and Union canals, which opened in 2002. The Wheel has been joined by two 30-metre high horse-head sculptures, the Kelpies, which have attracted high numbers of visitors since April 2014. The town was the site of the two battles of Falkirk, in 1298 and 1746.

In 1999, sitting Labour MP Dennis Canavan's application to stand in the first Scottish election was rejected by Labour's central selection panel. However, he stood as an independent and took the seat. In 2007 he announced his retirement, and Michael Matheson took the seat for the SNP.

Back to top