Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Falkirk East

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Central Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Angus MacDonald Votes 16,720 51.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Craig Martin Votes 8,408 25.9% Net percentage change in seats −12.4


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Callum Laidlaw Votes 6,342 19.5% Net percentage change in seats +11.1


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates James Munro Votes 1,054 3.2% Net percentage change in seats +0.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 51.4
Scottish Labour 25.9
Scottish Conservatives 19.5
Scottish Lib Dems 3.2

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

The constituency comprises both urban and rural areas and stretches from South Alloa in the north and encompasses major towns like Grangemouth, Bo'ness, Blackness and Westquarter, before ending just beyond the community of Limerigg in the south.

Despite large tracts of countryside, it is the industry in the constituency that has come to characterise it. Grangemouth is Scotland's largest deep sea container port. Warehousing and distribution are also key growth areas for the local economy. The town's other major industry is chemicals, with the giant refinery and Ineos plant located here. A substantial portion of the ancient Antonine Wall, constructed by the Romans in AD142 and given World Heritage status by Unesco in 2008, is sited in Bo'ness.

Historically, the seat has mainly returned Labour politicians both the Westminster and Holyrood elections. The party's Cathy Peattie won in 1999, 2003 and 2007, but was beaten by the SNP's Angus MacDonald in 2011.

Back to top