Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: CON HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates John Lamont Votes 18,257 55.2% Net percentage change in seats +10.3


Scottish National Party

Candidates Paul Wheelhouse Votes 10,521 31.8% Net percentage change in seats +5.4


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Jim Hume Votes 2,551 7.7% Net percentage change in seats −9.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Barrie Cunning Votes 1,766 5.3% Net percentage change in seats −5.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Conservatives Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Conservatives 55.2
Scottish National Party 31.8
Scottish Lib Dems 7.7
Scottish Labour 5.3

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems

Constituency Profile

Although the landscape of this seat is mainly rural, it also includes the sizeable market towns of Selkirk, Hawick, Kelso and Jedburgh, which are also famous for their rugby teams. Hawick grew up around the textile trade. Tweed cloth has been the prime export, and is the home of the Lyle & Scott and Pringle knitwear companies since the 19th century.

The decline in the textile industry has had a big impact on the local economy. Employment opportunities in the area have been badly affected by the downturn. Kelso's Georgian elegance and famous ruined abbey bring tourists who also take to the walking routes of Kielder Forest and the Cheviot hills.

Euan Robson took the constituency for the Liberal Democrats in the 1999 Holyrood election and won it again in 2003. But at the 2007 poll, the seat went to the Tories with John Lamont becoming its MSP, winning again in 2011.

Back to top