Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Edinburgh Western

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Lothian


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Alex Cole-Hamilton Votes 16,645 41.9% Net percentage change in seats +14.1


Scottish National Party

Candidates Toni Giugliano Votes 13,685 34.4% Net percentage change in seats −1.4


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Sandy Batho Votes 5,686 14.3% Net percentage change in seats −0.8


Scottish Labour

Candidates Cat Headley Votes 3,750 9.4% Net percentage change in seats −12.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Lib Dems Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Lib Dems 41.9
Scottish National Party 34.4
Scottish Conservatives 14.3
Scottish Labour 9.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

This seat contains the old villages of Cramond, Dalmeny and Corstorphine, the seat of the Earls of Rosebery, and Queensferry on the coast.

Notable landmarks in Edinburgh Western include the southern ends of the Forth road and rail bridges, Edinburgh Airport and the Gyle Shopping Centre. The airport's eastern terminal expansion, opened in 2014, netted a "Carbuncle Award", a satirical prize criticising architectural design. Both the M8 and M9 roads also run through the constituency.

The Liberal Democrats won the seat from Conservative Lord James Douglas-Hamilton at the 1997 general election, and Lib Dem Margaret Smith defeated Lord James in the 1999 Holyrood elections. She retained the seat in the 2003 and 2007 Scottish Parliament elections, but lost to Colin Keir for the SNP in 2011. Mr Keir was defeated in his bid to be re-selected to contest the seat for the SNP in 2016.

Back to top