Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Edinburgh Eastern

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Lothian
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Ash Denham Votes 16,760 47.3% Net percentage change in seats −0.0


Scottish Labour

Candidates Kezia Dugdale Votes 11,673 33.0% Net percentage change in seats −7.1


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Nick Cook Votes 5,700 16.1% Net percentage change in seats +7.5


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Cospatric D'Inverno Votes 1,264 3.6% Net percentage change in seats −0.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 47.3
Scottish Labour 33.0
Scottish Conservatives 16.1
Scottish Lib Dems 3.6

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

This constituency stretches from the port of Leith along the Firth of Forth, taking in the Victorian resort of Portobello, to Eastfield, and includes Niddrie and Duddingston as well as Arthur's Seat and Holyrood Park, but not the Scottish Parliament building itself. It extends south to Gilmerton and Burdiehouse, bordering on the City of Edinburgh bypass.

The constituency formerly included Musselburgh, which was moved to the Midlothian North and Musselburgh seat in the 2011 boundary changes.

Historically, the Westminster seat was held by Labour since 1935, although it was taken by the SNP in 2015. Labour's Susan Deacon was elected to the first Scottish Parliament in 1999 and was returned to Holyrood in 2003. She stepped down from frontline politics at the 2007 election and the seat went from Labour into SNP hands with Kenny MacAskill, a former Lothians list MSP, who won again in 2011.

Back to top