Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

East Lothian

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Labour

Candidates Iain Gray Votes 14,329 37.8% Net percentage change in seats −1.2


Scottish National Party

Candidates DJ Johnston-Smith Votes 13,202 34.8% Net percentage change in seats −3.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Rachael Hamilton Votes 9,045 23.9% Net percentage change in seats +7.2


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Ettie Spencer Votes 1,337 3.5% Net percentage change in seats −2.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Labour 37.8
Scottish National Party 34.8
Scottish Conservatives 23.9
Scottish Lib Dems 3.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party

Constituency Profile

East Lothian lies to the east of Edinburgh, and is comprised mostly of agricultural land but also seaside resorts, such as Gullane, which is home to the Muirfield Open Championship golf course.

The constituency features the ex-mining towns of Prestonpans and Ormiston and used to be home to Cockenzie coal-fired power station which shut in 2013. The seat also contains the nuclear power station at Torness. The east coast town of Dunbar, which is about 28 miles from Edinburgh and about the same distance from the English border, sits inside this seat. Population hotspots include Haddington, East Linton, North Berwick and Tranent.

Labour's John Home Robertson won the UK constituency in a by-election in 1978, and in 1999 he was elected as East Lothian's first MSP and was returned to the seat following the 2003 Holyrood poll. Iain Gray held the seat for Labour in 2007 and 2011.

Back to top