Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife
Result: SNP WIN


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Shirley-Anne Somerville Votes 14,257 43.3% Net percentage change in seats +5.7


Scottish Labour

Candidates Cara Hilton Votes 9,699 29.5% Net percentage change in seats −6.1


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates James Reekie Votes 5,797 17.6% Net percentage change in seats +10.5


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates James Calder Votes 3,156 9.6% Net percentage change in seats −10.1

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 43.3
Scottish Labour 29.5
Scottish Conservatives 17.6
Scottish Lib Dems 9.6

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems

Constituency Profile

Dunfermline was once Scotland's capital city and eight kings are buried here, among them Robert the Bruce. Today, it is a mostly working-class town, with textiles, engineering and the manufacture of synthetic materials the main industries, although the seat also contains rural areas. Over recent years the decline of Rosyth dockyards and the closure of the naval base there have caused a lot of economic problems for the area.

Dunfermline was formerly split into two seats, East and West, incorporating other parts of Fife including Cowdenbeath, but was unified in boundary changes in 2011.

In the Scottish Parliament, Helen Eadie won the Dunfermline East seat for Labour in 1999, 2003 and 2007. Scott Barrie won the Dunfermline West seat for Labour at the 1999 and 2003 polls, losing to Lib Dem Jim Tolson in 2007. Following the 2011 poll, Bill Walker took the unified Dunfermline seat for the SNP.

Back to top