Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Oliver Mundell Votes 13,536 37.3% Net percentage change in seats +7.6


Scottish National Party

Candidates Joan McAlpine Votes 12,306 33.9% Net percentage change in seats +7.7


Scottish Labour

Candidates Elaine Murray Votes 9,151 25.2% Net percentage change in seats −14.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Richard Brodie Votes 1,267 3.5% Net percentage change in seats −1.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Conservatives Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Conservatives 37.3
Scottish National Party 33.9
Scottish Labour 25.2
Scottish Lib Dems 3.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Dumfries is a large, rural seat in the southwest of Scotland, north of the Solway Firth. Its economy is based on agriculture, tourism, textiles and forestry. There is also light engineering in the area, while the only heavy industry is boiler making, which is found on the outskirts of the town of Annan.

Tourists are attracted by the area's scenery, which includes the Lowther Hills and Eskdalemuir Forest, and also by the towns of Gretna, Dumfries, and Lochmaben, reputed to be Robert the Bruce's birthplace. Lockerbie, tragically made famous by the Pan-Am jet crash in 1988, is also in the seat. The area's farmers suffered heavy losses in the 2001 foot-and-mouth epidemic. Running through the heart of the constituency is Scotland's main motorway link with England, the A74(M).

In the Scottish Parliament's first election of 1999 the Labour Party's Elaine Murray won. She went on to retain the seat in the 2003, 2007 and 2011 Holyrood elections.

Back to top