Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Cunninghame South

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - West Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Ruth Maguire Votes 13,416 52.2% Net percentage change in seats +2.4


Scottish Labour

Candidates Joe Cullinane Votes 7,723 30.1% Net percentage change in seats −9.1


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Billy McClure Votes 3,940 15.3% Net percentage change in seats +6.9


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Ruby Kirkwood Votes 616 2.4% Net percentage change in seats −0.1

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 52.2
Scottish Labour 30.1
Scottish Conservatives 15.3
Scottish Lib Dems 2.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Irvine is the largest town in what is a far more urban seat than neighbouring Cunninghame North. It is the only new town in Britain on the coast and, like Cumbernauld, grew up to accommodate the overspill of Glasgow's population in the 1960s.

The seat's industrial base is varied, but unemployment in the area has tended to be over the national average. North Ayrshire Council has its headquarters in Irvine and its 7,000 staff provides services for its 135,000 population. Other towns in the constituency include Stevenston and Kilwinning.

Irvine is the birthplace of First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, who is also leader of the SNP, and that of former first minister Jack McConnell. Labour's Irene Oldfather was MSP for the area from the inception of the Scottish Parliament in 1999, until Margaret Burgess won the seat for the SNP in the 2011 election.

Back to top