Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Kenneth Gibson Votes 16,587 51.9% Net percentage change in seats −0.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Jamie Greene Votes 7,863 24.6% Net percentage change in seats +10.9


Scottish Labour

Candidates Johanna Baxter Votes 6,735 21.1% Net percentage change in seats −10.8


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Charity Pierce Votes 780 2.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.6

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 51.9
Scottish Conservatives 24.6
Scottish Labour 21.1
Scottish Lib Dems 2.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Latest updates

SNP hold

Kenneth Gibson served as a councillor from 1992-1999, achieving in his second term the biggest majority of any Scottish councillor. In 1999 he was elected as an MSP for Glasgow.

He was SNP Shadow Minister for Local Government from 1997-2001 and Shadow Minister for Social justice, Housing, Urban Regeneration and Planning from 2001-2003.

Kenneth Gibson

RESULT: SNP hold Cunninghame North

SNP hold

What time will a result be declared?

Based on the 2011 Holyrood election results, the estimated declaration time for this constituency is about 03:00. 

BBC Scotland's Pacific Quay headquarters preparing for election coverage

Final preparations underway at Pacific Quay, as BBC Scotland gets ready to begin its election coverage at 10.30pm. 

BBC Pacific Quay

Watch this space

Visit this page for the latest updates, articles and videos about this constituency in the run-up to the Scottish Parliament Election, and for results from 10pm on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Scottish Parliament

Constituency Profile

The seat is coastal and rural in nature, with declining traditional industries but an ever-present tourism industry. Coal mining and textiles have diminished and the major employers are now in agriculture and tourism. The resort of Largs, which markets itself on its strong historical links to the Vikings, and the Isle of Arran are the two most popular holiday and day-tripper destinations.

This seat also includes the nuclear power plant of Hunterston in North Ayrshire which was commissioned in 1976 and is due to be decommissioned in 2023.

Historically, Cunninghame North and its predecessor seat of North Ayrshire and Bute were won at Westminster by the Conservatives from 1918 until 1987 when Labour's Brian Wilson held the seat until standing down in 2005. At the 1999 and 2003 Scottish Parliament elections, Labour's Allan Wilson won. The SNP's Kenneth Gibson took the seat in 2007, and retained it in 2011.

Back to top