Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Central Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Jamie Hepburn Votes 17,015 60.1% Net percentage change in seats +6.3


Scottish Labour

Candidates Mark Griffin Votes 7,537 26.6% Net percentage change in seats −13.5


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Anthony Newman Votes 3,068 10.8% Net percentage change in seats +6.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Irene Lang Votes 688 2.4% Net percentage change in seats +1.0

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 60.1
Scottish Labour 26.6
Scottish Conservatives 10.8
Scottish Lib Dems 2.4

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Cumbernauld is situated 15 miles north-east of Glasgow, with Kilsyth a smaller near neighbour to the north across the River Kelvin. In taking up the over-spilling population of Glasgow after World War II, the North Lanarkshire town grew to the extent it was granted new town status in 1956, and its population now numbers almost 50,000.

Cumbernauld won the 2001 and 2005 "Carbuncle Awards", a satirical architecture prize for "the most dismal town in Scotland", which North Lanarkshire Council called "ridiculous" and "unhelpful". However, Cumbernauld was later named "Best Town" at the Scottish Design Awards in 2012, and was lauded by the Royal Town Planning Institute in 2014. The economy of both Cumbernauld and Kilsyth is largely based on light industries, including computing and engineering.

Labour's Cathy Craigie was elected to the seat in 1999 and re-elected in 2003 and 2007. Jamie Hepburn won the constituency in 2011 for the SNP.

Back to top