Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Mid Scotland and Fife


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Annabelle Ewing Votes 13,715 46.1% Net percentage change in seats +4.5


Scottish Labour

Candidates Alex Rowley Votes 10,674 35.9% Net percentage change in seats −10.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Dave Dempsey Votes 4,251 14.3% Net percentage change in seats +7.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Bryn Jones Votes 1,094 3.7% Net percentage change in seats −0.2

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 46.1
Scottish Labour 35.9
Scottish Conservatives 14.3
Scottish Lib Dems 3.7

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

With a population of about 12,000, Cowdenbeath grew up around the many coalfields of Fife - from Kelty and Lochgelly to Donibristle and Fordell. Its famous sons include author Ian Rankin, former politician Dennis Canavan and well known senior Scottish advocate Donald Findlay.

The seat was created in 2011 after the Dunfermline East constituency which it used to form part of was abolished. The constituency includes Rosyth, which was formerly part of Dunfermline West, as well as Dalgety Bay, a town serving largely as commuter suburb for Edinburgh and the rest of Fife.

The combined seat was won by Labour's Helen Eadie in 2011, who had been MSP for Dunfermline East since 1999. Scott Barrie held the Dunfermline West seat for Labour between 1999 and 2007, when it was taken by Lib Dem Jim Tolson. After Mrs Eadie died in office in 2014, Alex Rowley held the seat for Labour.

Back to top