Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Clydebank and Milngavie

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - West Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Gil Paterson Votes 16,158 49.2% Net percentage change in seats +5.9


Scottish Labour

Candidates Gail Casey Votes 7,726 23.5% Net percentage change in seats −17.2


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Maurice Golden Votes 6,029 18.4% Net percentage change in seats +8.6


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Frank Bowles Votes 2,925 8.9% Net percentage change in seats +2.7

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 49.2
Scottish Labour 23.5
Scottish Conservatives 18.4
Scottish Lib Dems 8.9

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Clydebank is one of the most famous names associated with shipbuilding, which used to be the town's main employer before the industry's decline. The industrial base in the region has now diversified, and although engineering remains, new tech and service industries have established themselves.

In contrast to the working-class character of Clydebank, Milngavie is a leafy, middle-class suburb, popular with Glasgow commuters. The West Highland Way, a long-distance walking route, starts here. There is some light industry, but none of the council estates found in parts of Clydebank. Inside the seat is the Antonine Wall, which is a stone and turf fortification built by the Romans between the Firth of Forth and the Firth of Clyde.

Labour's Des McNulty won the seat when it was created for the Scottish Parliament in 1999. The party held on to it in 2003 and 2007, until Gil Paterson took the constituency for the SNP in 2011.

Back to top