Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Jeane Freeman Votes 14,690 46.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.2


Scottish Labour

Candidates Carol Mochan Votes 8,684 27.4% Net percentage change in seats −9.8


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Lee Lyons Votes 7,666 24.2% Net percentage change in seats +9.7


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Dawud Islam Votes 640 2.0% Net percentage change in seats −0.2

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 46.4
Scottish Labour 27.4
Scottish Conservatives 24.2
Scottish Lib Dems 2.0

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Latest updates

SNP increase majority

Jeane Freeman celebrates her hard fought victory with an increased majority of approximately 3,500. With the list results still to come in the SNP predict a continued strong showing with a limited Green presence in  Ayrshire.

Jeane Freeman

Labour to 'hold their own'

Carol Ann Mochan confident Labour will hold their own vote in Ayrshire but look likely to lose out to the SNP.

What time will a result be declared?

Based on the 2011 Holyrood election results, the estimated declaration time for this constituency is about 03:00. 

BBC Scotland's Pacific Quay headquarters preparing for election coverage

Final preparations underway at Pacific Quay, as BBC Scotland gets ready to begin its election coverage at 10.30pm. 

BBC Pacific Quay

Watch this space

Visit this page for the latest updates, articles and videos about this constituency in the run-up to the Scottish Parliament Election, and for results from 10pm on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Scottish Parliament

Constituency Profile

The seat, which sits south of Ayr, is a mix of pastoral beauty and post-industrial areas, famously eulogised by poet Robert Burns, who was born in Alloway. The hills and coastal scenery attract tourists, but there is also a significant industrial heritage. John Loudon Macadam first experimented with his tarmac on roads here, and there is a history of coal mining and ironworks.

There is farming to the south, and a small seaside resort at Girvan, but the industrial regions are the most heavily populated. Keir Hardie, co-founder of the Labour Party and its first ever candidate, lived in Cumnock for many years.

Historically, this area was represented at Westminster by Jim Sillars between 1970 and 1979, as a Labour MP before he joined the SNP. Labour's Cathy Jamieson won the seat at the first Holyrood election in 1999 and held it in 2003 and 2007, before Adam Ingram took it for the SNP in 2011.

Back to top