Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland


Scottish Parliament constituency Region - South Scotland
Result: CON HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates John Scott Votes 16,183 43.0% Net percentage change in seats +4.1


Scottish National Party

Candidates Jennifer Dunn Votes 15,433 41.0% Net percentage change in seats +5.4


Scottish Labour

Candidates Brian McGinley Votes 5,283 14.0% Net percentage change in seats −9.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Robbie Simpson Votes 716 1.9% Net percentage change in seats −0.2

Turnout and Majority

Scottish Conservatives Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish Conservatives 43.0
Scottish National Party 41.0
Scottish Labour 14.0
Scottish Lib Dems 1.9

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish National Party
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Tourists have been attracted to the seaside town of Ayr because of its connections to poet Robert Burns, its sandy beaches and golf courses. The affluence of the south of the town is contrasted with the industrial make-up and council estates of the north.

To the north of Ayr is Prestwick, known for its airport, wholly owned by the Scottish government since 2013. Further north is Troon, home to two championship golf courses, and a popular marina. There is some agriculture in the west, but tourism, engineering and fishing are also major industries.

The 1999 election produced a close contest when Labour’s Ian Welsh won by 25 votes. However, seven months after being elected, Mr Welsh announced he was standing down for family reasons. The March 2000 by-election saw Labour beaten into third place. The Conservatives’ John Scott became constituency MSP, taking the seat again in 2003, 2007, and 2011.

Back to top