Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Michael Russell Votes 13,561 46.0% Net percentage change in seats −4.6


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Alan Reid Votes 7,583 25.7% Net percentage change in seats +13.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Donald Cameron Votes 5,840 19.8% Net percentage change in seats +1.5


Scottish Labour

Candidates Mick Rice Votes 2,492 8.5% Net percentage change in seats −6.8

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 46.0
Scottish Lib Dems 25.7
Scottish Conservatives 19.8
Scottish Labour 8.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Latest updates

Surfer Matthew Bryce "made himself at peace" with not surviving after 32 hours at sea
Surfer Matthew Bryce "made himself at peace" believing he would not survive after 32 hours stranded at sea

SNP hold

Mike Russell was elected as a regional member for the South of Scotland to the Scottish Parliament when it was established in 1999 and in 2011 became the constituency MSP for Argyll & Bute where he has lived for 25 years. 

He became Environment Minister when the SNP Scottish Government took office in 2007, subsequently serving as Minister for Culture, External Affairs & the Constitution and then (for five years) as Cabinet Secretary for Education & Lifelong Learning. 

He has been a member of the Scottish Parliament's Rural Affairs, Climate Change & Environment Committee.

Mike Russell

RESULT: SNP hold Argyll and Bute

SNP hold

What time will a result be declared?

Based on the 2011 Holyrood election results, the estimated declaration time for this constituency is between 04:00 and 04:30 

BBC Scotland's Pacific Quay headquarters preparing for election coverage

Final preparations underway at Pacific Quay, as BBC Scotland gets ready to begin its election coverage at 10.30pm. 

BBC Pacific Quay

Constituency Profile

This constituency covers nearly two million acres of mainland Scotland as well as many islands such as Mull, Islay, Jura, Tiree and Bute. The region is famous for whisky production and other industries include farming, fishing and fish farming.

Renewable energy is a growth industry, both for manufacturing wind turbines and harnessing wind and wave power. Holy Loch used to be the base for US Poseidon nuclear submarines but is now closed. About 10% of the population are Gaelic speakers.

In 1999 the Lib Dem’s George Lyon, a farmer from Bute, won the area’s first Holyrood seat. He went on to retain it at the 2003 Scottish Parliament election. In 2007 the seat changed hands and the SNP’s Jim Mather became its new MSP. Mike Russell went on to hold the seat for the SNP in 2011.

Back to top