Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Airdrie and Shotts

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - Central Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Alex Neil Votes 13,954 52.5% Net percentage change in seats +2.4


Scottish Labour

Candidates Richard Leonard Votes 7,762 29.2% Net percentage change in seats −12.6


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Eric Holford Votes 4,164 15.7% Net percentage change in seats +9.8


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Louise Young Votes 693 2.6% Net percentage change in seats +0.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 52.5
Scottish Labour 29.2
Scottish Conservatives 15.7
Scottish Lib Dems 2.6

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

Airdrie is significantly larger than Shotts, both of which are situated in an area which was historically dominated by traditional industries such as engineering, coal and steel.

The local prison in Shotts is one of the largest in Scotland. Re-built in 2012, it is situated south of the M8 and is a maximum-security jail used for 553 long-term adult male prisoners. The North Lanarkshire town of Airdrie is about 12 miles east of Glasgow and has a population of about 37,000. Chemist chain Boots delivered a blow to the local economy in 2005 when - after 50 years of production - it closed its Airdrie factory with the loss of 1,000 jobs. Housing has been built on the site where the plant stood.

At the inaugural elections in 1999, the seat was won by Labour’s Karen Whitefield. She retained it in 2003 and 2007. The SNP’s Alex Neil took it in 2011.

Back to top