Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Aberdeenshire East

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - North East Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Gillian Martin Votes 15,912 45.8% Net percentage change in seats −18.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Colin Clark Votes 10,075 29.0% Net percentage change in seats +15.1


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Christine Jardine Votes 6,611 19.0% Net percentage change in seats +5.0


Scottish Labour

Candidates Sarah Flavell Votes 2,155 6.2% Net percentage change in seats −1.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 45.8
Scottish Conservatives 29.0
Scottish Lib Dems 19.0
Scottish Labour 6.2

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour
Scottish National Party

Constituency Profile

The constituency takes in swathes of the old Gordon seat and is largely rural. Forestry, agriculture and food processing are key industries. Beef production is also important to the area but there are other industries, including engineering supplies for the oil and gas industries based at Ellon.

Residential development in towns such as Inverurie and Ellon has resulted in many people who work in Aberdeen's oil industry moving here. Following boundary changes, Huntly and Keith were taken out and went into the neighbouring seats of Aberdeenshire West and Moray. The seat now stretches a little further north and takes in the A952 up to Mintlaw.

The old Gordon constituency was a Liberal Democrat seat at Holyrood until Alex Salmond won it in 2007, and again in 2011. Mr Salmond also holds the Westminster seat of Gordon. However, he is not standing again for Holyrood.

Back to top