Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Maureen Watt Votes 13,604 42.1% Net percentage change in seats +0.4


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Ross Thomson Votes 10,849 33.5% Net percentage change in seats +19.4


Scottish Labour

Candidates Alison Evison Votes 5,603 17.3% Net percentage change in seats −2.3


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates John Waddell Votes 2,284 7.1% Net percentage change in seats −10.4

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 42.1
Scottish Conservatives 33.5
Scottish Labour 17.3
Scottish Lib Dems 7.1

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour
Scottish Lib Dems

Latest updates

Mark McDonald, Maureen Watt and Kevin Stewart

The Conservatives win Aberdeenshire West and four list MSPs on a good night in the north east for the SNP, with the Lib Dems holding Orkney and Shetland.

Read more

SNP's Maureen Watt holds Aberdeen South & North Kincardine

In November 2014, Maureen was chosen by First Minister Nicola Sturgeon to become Minister for Public Health.

SNP's Maureen Watt holds Aberdeen South & North Kincardine

SNP's Maureen Watt holds Aberdeen South & North Kincardine

RESULT: SNP hold Aberdeen South and North Kincardine

SNP hold

Scottish Greens Maggie Chapman speaking on BBC Radio Scotland

Constituency Profile

The seat stretches down to Portlethen, hugging the coast, and following the A90, to just south of Blackhill. It contains Aberdeen's southern suburbs and is rural in character. The southern part of the city contains many of its more affluent areas and also the suburbs of Peterculter, Bieldside and Milltimber. There are also large council estates within the seat such as those at Kincorth and Garthdee.

The main employer here is the oil industry and its related services. The wealth generated by North Sea oil and gas production has resulted in some of Scotland's highest house prices. But in recent times an estimated 65,000 oil and gas industry jobs have been lost in the UK.

When the Aberdeen South seat was created in 1999 it was won by the Liberal Democrats' Nicol Stephen, who held it in 2003 and 2007. It was taken by Maureen Watt for the SNP in 2011.

Back to top