Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Mark McDonald Votes 17,339 56.0% Net percentage change in seats +0.7


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Liam Kerr Votes 5,709 18.4% Net percentage change in seats +10.3


Scottish Labour

Candidates Greg Williams Votes 5,672 18.3% Net percentage change in seats −10.1


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Isobel Davidson Votes 2,261 7.3% Net percentage change in seats +1.3

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 56.0
Scottish Conservatives 18.4
Scottish Labour 18.3
Scottish Lib Dems 7.3

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish National Party
Scottish Labour

Latest updates

Mark McDonald says some people will want nothing to do with him
MSP Mark McDonald who admitted behaving inappropriately to women says he accepts some people will want nothing to do with him when he returns to parliament.
Mark McDonald, Maureen Watt and Kevin Stewart

The Conservatives win Aberdeenshire West and four list MSPs on a good night in the north east for the SNP, with the Lib Dems holding Orkney and Shetland.

Read more

Mark McDonald holds Aberdeen Donside

Mark was elected as MSP for Aberdeen Donside in a by-election in 2013, having previously served as a North East MSP since 2011.  

Mark McDonald holds Aberdeen Donside

Constituency Profile

The constituency includes the northern part of Aberdeen and some of its rural hinterland. The parts of the city that are included in the seat are mainly residential and made up in part by council estates such as Northfield, Mastrick and Summerhill. The rest of the seat is rural in character, apart from Dyce and Bridge of Don, as both areas are home to sizeable industrial estates.

Part of its boundary hugs the River Don and runs down along the coast past Royal Aberdeen Golf Course to the Donmouth Nature Reserve.

After a closely fought 1999 Holyrood election, the old Aberdeen North seat was won by Labour's Elaine Thomson. But the SNP's Brian Adam won the constituency at the 2003, 2007 and 2011 Holyrood elections. He died in April 2013 and the by-election that followed was won by SNP candidate Mark McDonald.

Back to top