Scotland Results

Scottish Parliament Results
Party Scottish National Party Scottish Conservatives Scottish Labour Scottish Green Party Scottish Lib Dems Independent
Seats 63 31 24 6 5 0
Change −6 +16 −13 +4 - −1

After 129 of 129 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Victory for the SNP with 63 seats - two short of a majority
  2. Conservatives are the second largest party on 31 seats - but Labour on 24 lost 13 seats
  3. Scottish Greens are the fourth largest party with six seats, ahead of the Lib Dems who won five
  4. See the changing political map of Scotland

Aberdeen Central

Scottish Parliament constituency Region - North East Scotland
Result: SNP HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Scottish National Party

Candidates Kevin Stewart Votes 11,648 43.6% Net percentage change in seats +3.6


Scottish Labour

Candidates Lewis MacDonald Votes 7,299 27.3% Net percentage change in seats −10.2


Scottish Conservatives

Candidates Tom Mason Votes 6,022 22.6% Net percentage change in seats +10.2


Scottish Lib Dems

Candidates Ken McLeod Votes 1,735 6.5% Net percentage change in seats −2.8

Turnout and Majority

Scottish National Party Majority




Vote share

Party %
Scottish National Party 43.6
Scottish Labour 27.3
Scottish Conservatives 22.6
Scottish Lib Dems 6.5

Vote share change since 2011

Scottish Conservatives
Scottish National Party
Scottish Lib Dems
Scottish Labour

Constituency Profile

As Europe's oil capital, the off-shore industry dominates the economy of the seat. The city was Scotland's largest fishing port in the 19th century, but the harbour is now largely used to service the vessels of North Sea oil production. In recent times an estimated 65,000 oil and gas industry jobs have been lost in the UK, impacting dramatically on the area.

The residential areas are varied in character and contain some of the city's most affluent districts, such as Rubislaw, but also more working class areas including Woodside, St Machar, Linksfield and Causewayend. The seat also holds the city centre, old town, university and the local football stadium.

Labour's Lewis Macdonald won the seat at three elections, 1999, 2003 and 2007, but Kevin Stewart won it for the SNP in 2011.

Back to top