UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Chris Evans
    • Votes: 15,356
    • Vote share %: 44.7
    • Vote share change: -14.1
  2. Conservative
    Gavin Chambers
    • Votes: 9,892
    • Vote share %: 28.8
    • Vote share change: +1.6
  3. The Brexit Party
    James Wells
    • Votes: 4,834
    • Vote share %: 14.1
    • Vote share change: +14.1
  4. Plaid Cymru
    Zoe Hammond
    • Votes: 2,286
    • Vote share %: 6.7
    • Vote share change: -0.9
  5. Liberal Democrat
    Jo Watkins
    • Votes: 1,313
    • Vote share %: 3.8
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  6. Green
    Catherine Linstrum
    • Votes: 669
    • Vote share %: 1.9
    • Vote share change: +1.9

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 5,464
  • Registered voters: 55,423
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.2

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 44.7%
Conservative 28.8%
The Brexit Party 14.1%
Plaid Cymru 6.7%
Liberal Democrat 3.8%
Green 1.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +14.1 Gained
  • Green +1.9 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +1.9 Gained
  • Conservative +1.6 Gained
  • Plaid Cymru -0.9 Lost
  • Labour -14.1 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

'Beaten by a binary system'

Brexit Party MEP James Wells failed to win a seat in Islwyn.

He's calling for electoral reform.

View more on twitter

'Mountain to climb'

Labour MP Chris Evans spoke to BBC Radio Wales after holding his seat of Islwyn in a difficult night for his party.

"We need to rebuild the organisation... we have a mountain to climb... clearly something has gone wrong."

Chris Evans and supporters
Chris Evans held his seat of Islwyn

Labour celebrate holding Islwyn

Despite a “difficult” night for Labour and a loss in some vote share, Chris Evans and his supporters were all smiles as they celebrated him holding the seat of Islwyn.

Chris Evans and supporters

Islwyn: Labour hold

Chris Evans has been re-elected as the MP for Islwyn, with a decreased majority.

The Labour candidate beat Conservative Gavin Chambers by 5,464 votes, less than half the majority at the 2017 election.

James Wells of the Brexit Party came third and Plaid Cymru's Zoe Hammond came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.2 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 34,000 people, 62% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the six candidates, Jo Watkins (Liberal Democrat) and Catherine Linstrum (Green) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingLabour hold Islwyn - Chris Evans re-elected

Islwyn results 2019

More turnout figures

Llanelli 63%

Islwyn 62%

Torfaen 59%

Caerphilly 64%

It's (nearly) a marathon, not a sprint

Owen Peregrine, the assistant manager at the leisure centre in Newbridge where the Islwyn count is taking place is having an active night.

So far he has walked almost 10 miles.

“I’ll probably do 20 by the end of tonight,” he said.

Watch showing distance walked

Counts under way across Wales

Plenty of crosses into the box at the Cardiff City Stadium tonight... but not the kind you would see from Neil Harris's team.

The stadium in the south west of Cardiff is hosting the counts for the Cardiff West and Cardiff North constituencies this evening.

Boxes have also arrived in Newbridge for the Islwyn count.

Islwyn had one of the lowest turnouts in Wales in the last general election at 64.2%, but there are suggestions they might beating that figure this time.

Boxes arriving at Cardiff City Stadium
Boxes in Islwyn