UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Robin Millar
    • Votes: 14,687
    • Vote share %: 46.1
    • Vote share change: +1.5
  2. Labour
    Emily Owen
    • Votes: 12,653
    • Vote share %: 39.7
    • Vote share change: -2.9
  3. Plaid Cymru
    Lisa Goodier
    • Votes: 2,704
    • Vote share %: 8.5
    • Vote share change: -1.4
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Jason Edwards
    • Votes: 1,821
    • Vote share %: 5.7
    • Vote share change: +2.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 2,034
  • Registered voters: 44,699
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +0.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 46.1%
Labour 39.7%
Plaid Cymru 8.5%
Liberal Democrat 5.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +2.8 Gained
  • Conservative +1.5 Gained
  • Plaid Cymru -1.4 Lost
  • Labour -2.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Who are the new MPs are heading to Westminster?

A General Election always sees new faces representing their constituents in Westminster.

Here are the new names who have been elected:

  • Fay Jones - Conservative, Brecon and Radnorshire
  • Rob Roberts - Conservative, Delyn
  • Robin Millar - Conservative, Aberconwy
  • Jamie Wallis - Conservative, Bridgend
  • Alex Davies-Jones - Labour, Pontypridd
  • Beth Winter - Labour, Cynon Valley
  • Virginia Crosbie - Conservative, Ynys Mon
  • Simon Baynes - Conservative, Clwyd South
  • Sarah Atherton - Conservative, Wrexham

James Davies (Vale of Clwyd) and Craig Williams (Montgomeryshire) are also returning to Parliament having been MPs before.

Fay Jones, Virginia Crosbie and Sarah Atherton
Fay Jones (left), Virginia Crosbie (centre) and Sarah Atherton (right) are the first women to be elected as Welsh Conservative MPs

Aberconwy: Conservative hold

Robin Millar has been elected MP for Aberconwy, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Labour's Emily Owen by 2,034 votes. This was considerably more than Guto Bebb’s 635 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Lisa Goodier of Plaid Cymru came third and Liberal Democrat Jason Edwards came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 0.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 32,000 people, 71.3% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

All four candidates keep their deposits, after receiving more than 5% of the votes.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingConservatives hold Aberconwy - Robin Millar elected

Aberconwy results 2019

More turnout figures

Bridgend - 66.9%

Caerphilly - 63.8%

Ogmore - 61.6%

Aberconwy - 71.6%

Pontypridd - 65%

Aberavon 65.2%

Neath - 65.4%

Swansea West - 63%

Swansea East - 57.6%

Gower - 61.7%

Dwyfor Merionnydd - 67.7%

Where will we see new MPs?

(Clockwise from left) Ann Clwyd, Albert Owen, Glyn Davies, Guto Bebb, Owen Smith, Ian Lucas
(Clockwise from left) Ann Clwyd, Albert Owen, Glyn Davies, Guto Bebb, Owen Smith, Ian Lucas

Some Welsh MPs are not seeking re-election, meaning whichever party wins in six Welsh constituencies, there will be a new MP.

Those standing down are:

  • Guto Bebb (Aberconwy)
  • Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley)
  • Glyn Davies (Montgomeryshire)
  • Ian Lucas (Wrexham)
  • Albert Owen (Ynys Mon)
  • Owen Smith (Pontypridd)

Read more about their decisions to stand down here.

"Ready, steady, count!"

On the stroke of 22:00 GMT, Iwan Davies, the returning officer in Llandudno, announced "ready, steady, count!"

Counting staff have begun sifting through postal votes.

Two counts are taking place in the Llandudno tonight, for the constituencies of Aberconwy and Clwyd West.

People counting votes in Llandudno