UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Worthing West

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Peter Bottomley
    • Votes: 30,475
    • Vote share %: 55.8
    • Vote share change: +0.4
  2. Labour
    Beccy Cooper
    • Votes: 15,652
    • Vote share %: 28.6
    • Vote share change: -4.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Jamie Bennett
    • Votes: 6,024
    • Vote share %: 11.0
    • Vote share change: +5.6
  4. Green
    Jo Paul
    • Votes: 2,008
    • Vote share %: 3.7
    • Vote share change: +0.7
  5. Independent
    David Aherne
    • Votes: 489
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 14,823
  • Registered voters: 78,587
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 55.8%
Labour 28.6%
Liberal Democrat 11.0%
Green 3.7%
Independent 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.6 Gained
  • Independent +0.9 Gained
  • Green +0.7 Gained
  • Conservative +0.4 Gained
  • Labour -4.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Worthing West: Sir Peter Bottomley becomes "Father of the House"

Peter Bottomley has been re-elected as the MP for Worthing West, becoming the longest serving member of the Commons or "Father of the House".

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Beccy Cooper by 14,823 votes, 2,733 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Sir Peter has been an MP since June 1975, first representing Woolwich West, then Eltham. Since May 1997 he has been MP for Worthing West.

Jamie Bennett of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Jo Paul came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.6 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 55,000 people, 69.5% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Jo Paul (Green) and David Aherne (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingWORTHING WEST RESULT: Conservative hold

First elected to Parliament in 1975, Sir Peter Bottomley is back for what is likely to be another five years.

Worthing West result

Who will replace Ken Clarke as Father of the House?

Neil Heath

BBC News Online

Harry Hayfield, 45, from Ceredigion, Wales, asked via Your Questions Answered: "Who will replace Kenneth Clarke as Father of the House following the general election?"

Ken Clarke in the House of Commons
PA Media

Father of the House is a title which goes to the MP with the longest continuous service.

Mr Clarke, 79, was sworn in as Conservative MP for Rushcliffe in Nottinghamshire on 18 June 1970 - just ahead of Dennis Skinner, the Labour MP.

Mr Clarke has stood down but Mr Skinner is standing in Bolsover, Derbyshire.

Should the 87-year-old win he will indeed become Father of the House.

But should he lose his seat, the honour could go to Sir Peter Bottomley, the Conservative MP for Worthing West, who was sworn in on 26 June 1975, if he wins.

Conservatives hold Worthing West

Sir Peter Bottomley

Worthing West: Conservative hold

election graphic