UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Worcestershire West

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Harriett Baldwin
    • Votes: 34,909
    • Vote share %: 60.7
    • Vote share change: -0.8
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Beverley Nielsen
    • Votes: 10,410
    • Vote share %: 18.1
    • Vote share change: +8.7
  3. Labour
    Samantha Charles
    • Votes: 9,496
    • Vote share %: 16.5
    • Vote share change: -7.2
  4. Green
    Martin Allen
    • Votes: 2,715
    • Vote share %: 4.7
    • Vote share change: +1.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 24,499
  • Registered voters: 76,267
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.5

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 60.7%
Liberal Democrat 18.1%
Labour 16.5%
Green 4.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +8.7 Gained
  • Green +1.9 Gained
  • Conservative -0.8 Lost
  • Labour -7.2 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

PM says 'bell is tolling' for 'woeful' rail firm

BBC Politics

Conservative MP Harriett Baldwin called on Boris Johnson to look at taking away the contract from West Midlands Trains.

PMQs: Johnson and Baldwin on West Midlands rail franchise

The MP for West Worcestershire said the firm, that operates across the Midlands and has services to London and Liverpool, had been "absolutely woeful".

He replied that the "bell is tolling for West Midlands Rail", in his second question on trains during PMQs, where he said other franchises were under review.

Election proved 'there's no such thing as a safe seat'

The returning Conservative MP for West Worcestershire, Harriett Baldwin, said the losses Labour suffered last night proved "there is no such thing as a safe seat".

She added: "There was clearly a choice by a lot of people in a lot of places that have been represented by Labour for a long time for a change of direction."

Harriett Baldwin
Getty Images

Speaking about her priorities for her own constituency, she said: "climate change is a big priority".

Worcestershire West: Conservative hold

Harriett Baldwin has been re-elected as the MP for Worcestershire West, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Beverley Nielsen by 24,499 votes, 3,171 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Samantha Charles of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Martin Allen came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.5 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 58,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Martin Allen (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingResult: Conservative hold in Worcestershire West

Harriett Baldwin has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Worcestershire West.

She secured a majority of 24,499 votes - up from her majority of 21,328 in 2017.

MP happy with new foreign office role

The MP for West Worcestershire, Harriett Baldwin, says she won't let her new job with the Foreign Office distract her from her constituency.

She was made the new minister of state in Theresa May's reshuffle yesterday.

Harriet Baldwin

The former Defence Minister also said she said saw the job as a chance to project "British values" around the world.

There is a certain amount of travel involved, but it's really important to keep one's feet on the ground and understand that one is representing the good voters of West Worcestershire at the same time."

Harriett BaldwinWest Worcestershire MP

'An election we didn't need to have' - Worcestershire Labour leader

The Conservatives lost "an election we didn't need to have" because they ran an "awful campaign", says the chair of the West Worcestershire Labour Party.

Dan Walton believes the focus on Brexit cost the Tories.

At the end of the day we didn't need to have this election - it was set to be an election about who should take us into negotiations about Brexit. It was an awful campaign by the Tories, it was very negative, they haven't put very much about policy forward and people have listened to that and voted."

Dan WaltonLabour Party

The Conservatives held the West Worcestershire seat with a majority of 21,328.