UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Dean Russell
    • Votes: 26,421
    • Vote share %: 45.5
    • Vote share change: -0.1
  2. Labour
    Chris Ostrowski
    • Votes: 21,988
    • Vote share %: 37.9
    • Vote share change: -4.2
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Ian Stotesbury
    • Votes: 9,323
    • Vote share %: 16.1
    • Vote share change: +7.0
  4. Social Democratic Party
    Michael McGetrick
    • Votes: 333
    • Vote share %: 0.6
    • Vote share change: +0.6

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 4,433
  • Registered voters: 83,359
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +1.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 45.5%
Labour 37.9%
Liberal Democrat 16.1%
Social Democratic Party 0.6%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +7.0 Gained
  • Social Democratic Party +0.6 Gained
  • Conservative -0.1 Lost
  • Labour -4.2 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

How the Hertfordshire media is reporting the election

Other local media have also been up all night with the Hertfordshire Mercury reflecting everything in its live results page.

In St Albans, Liberal Democrat Daisy Cooper told the Herts Advertiser it was "an absolute honour" to be elected MP after she unseated Conservative Ann Main to become the city's first Lib Dem MP.

In the Watford Observer, the town's new MP Dean Russell, who held the seat for the Conservatives, said he would be "building on an amazing legacy of Richard Harrington", the man he replaced and that his win was "a vindication of what our Prime Minister wants nationally".

The Comet which covers Hitchin and Stevenage focuses on Bim Afolami holding the Hitchin and Harpenden seat with him declaring it was "a demonstration of the strength of democracy".

In the Welwyn Hatfield Times, transport secretary Grant Shapps said that "it's fantastic the country can move on from Brexit" as he held his seat.

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Hertfordshire, but only one represents a change of party:

  • In St Albans, Liberal Democrat Daisy Cooper has taken the seat from Conservative Anne Main
  • Conservative Gagan Mohindra held the seat of South West Hertfordshire, despite a challenge from former Tory MP for the seat David Gauke, who had the whip removed after he voted against the government and stood as an independent
  • In Hertford and Stortford, Conservative candidate Julie Marson has held the seat for the Tories after Mark Prisk stood down
  • In Watford, Dean Russell has been elected MP for Watford, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority. He beat Labour's Chris Ostrowski by 4,433 votes, more than double Richard Harrington’s 2,092 vote majority in 2017
  • Elsewhere, all the Conservative candidates held their seats. Oliver Heald held Hertfordshire North East, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps retained his seat of Welwyn Hatfield, Bim Afolami held Hitchin and Harpenden, Stephen McPartlandwas re-elected as the MP for Stevenage.
  • In Hertsmere, Oliver Dowden has been re-elected, Sir Mike Penning has held Hemel Hempstead and in Broxbourne, Charles Walker has held his seat. .

Watford: Conservative hold

Dean Russell has been elected MP for Watford, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Labour's Chris Ostrowski by 4,433 votes. This was more than double Richard Harrington’s 2,092 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Ian Stotesbury of the Liberal Democrats came third and Michael McGetrick of the Social Democratic Party came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 1.9 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 58,000 people, 69.7% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Michael McGetrick (Social Democratic Party) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingWatford: Conservative hold

Conservatives have held on to the Watford constituency in Hertfordshire with new MP Dean Russell.

Analysis: Independent fights for Herts seat

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Hertfordshire has 11 constituencies and until September they were all Conservative.

However, the MP for South West Herts David Gauke (pictured), lost his place in the party over his Brexit views, but still has stood as an Independent against his old party.

David Gauke
PA Media

The Liberal Democrats fancies its chances of taking St Albans, despite Tory MP Anne Main’s 6,000 majority, whilst Watford could be close too. It’s a Tory seat currently, but with a 2,000 majority from Labour, and the standing MP Richard Harrington not seeking re-election.

Hertford and Stortford gets a new MP, following Mark Prisk’s retirement, and Labour and the Lib Dems are also targeting Stevenage. The other six seats are likely to remain Tory.

Decision to close centre for disabled children postponed

Matt Lockwood

BBC Three Counties Radio

Lawyers for parents fighting to keep a Hertfordshire centre for disabled children open say they've been given a reprieve.

Alex Rook, from Irwin Mitchell, told the BBC: "I am delighted to say that the CCG (clinical commissioning group) has agreed to set aside its decision to cease funding respite services at Nascot Lawn.

"They have confirmed that they will consult with the families of children and young people before thinking again about the matter."

Nascot Lawn Respite Centre in Watford was due to close in October, but that date has been pushed back to January.

Nascot Lawn Respite Centre

We have yet to hear from Hertfordshire CCG, but when the decision was first made it said the closure of the centre was necessary because of its "serious financial situation", and that the focus must be on spending on services it had a legal duty to provide.

The decision comes ahead of a planned judicial review next week, where health executives were being taken to the High Court for failing to consult with the families.

Watford MP Richard Harrington said: "Although this is very welcome news, there is more work to be done to protect this service for our local community. I want to see a long-term solution and that's what I will be working towards over the coming months."

Mark Watkin, Lib Dem councillor, said the move was "cynical".

Result in: Conservatives hold Watford

Katy Lewis

BBC Local Live

It was a close result in Watford where Richard Harrington held on to his seat with 26,731 votes - a majority of 2,092 over Labour's Chris Ostrowski, who got 24,639 votes.

In 2015 his majority was 9,794.

Richard Harrington

Here is the breakdown:

Richard Harrington (Con) 26,731

Chris Ostrowski (Lab) 24,639

Ian Stotesbury (LD) 5,335

Ian Green (UKIP) 1,184

Alex Murray (Green) 721

Watford: Conservative hold

Result graphic