UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Truro & Falmouth

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Sarah Newton Votes 25,123 header_vote_share 44.4 Net percentage change in seats +0.3



Jayne Kirkham Votes 21,331 header_vote_share 37.7 Net percentage change in seats +22.5


Liberal Democrat

Rob Nolan Votes 8,465 header_vote_share 14.9 Net percentage change in seats -1.9



Duncan Odgers Votes 897 header_vote_share 1.6 Net percentage change in seats -10.0


Green Party

Amanda Pennington Votes 831 header_vote_share 1.5 Net percentage change in seats -7.2

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 44.4
Labour 37.7
Liberal Democrat 14.9
UKIP 1.6
Green Party 1.5

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

Support for Theresa May from Sarah Newton

BBC Radio Cornwall

Sarah Newton, re-elected as MP for Truro and Falmouth says she believes Theresa May will remain as Prime Minister.

She told BBC Radio Cornwall: "I think she should stay on. Negotiations with the European Union begin in 11 days time.

Sarah Newton
Cornwall Council

"What I'm going to to do when I get to Parliament next week, I hope all MPs do, is to reach out across the political divide.

"There's so much more that unites us than divides us, and really make sure that we've got a good agreement for the Prime Minister to negotiate the best possible Brexit that she can get with our European colleagues."

The Prime Minister is expected to give a speech at 10:00.

Truro & Falmouth: Conservative hold

Result graphic

Constituency profile: Truro and Falmouth

Martyn Oates

BBC South West Political Editor

As Truro and St Austell, this seat has had a mixed parliamentary history during the past 60 years.

It was a Tory seat until 1974, when it fell to the Liberal candidate David Penhaligon. He held it until his death in a car accident in 1986.

He was succeeded by his 24-year-old researcher Matthew Taylor.

Taylor was re-elected for the fifth and final time, with a majority of 7,403, in 2005 before retiring in 2010.


The old seat also ceased to exist at the 2010 election. The other predecessor seat of Falmouth and Camborne was represented by Liberal Democrat Julia Goldsworthy until 2010.

The successor seat of Truro and Falmouth was won for the Conservatives by Sarah Newton with a majority of just 435.

A massive 24% collapse in the Lib Dem vote saw this increase to 14,000 in 2015.

The candidates are Jayne Kirkham (Labour), Sarah Newton (Conservative), Rob Nolan (Liberal Democrat), Duncan Odgers (UKIP), Amanda Pennington (Green Party).

Rob Nolan on Nick Clegg's loss

The Liberal Democrat candidate for Truro and Falmouth, Rob Nolan, says it's "very disappointing" to see Nick Clegg lose his seat.

Rob Nolan on Nick Clegg's loss

Count to soon start for Truro and Falmouth

Sophie Malcolm

BBC News Online

UKIP only fielding one candidate in Cornwall in General Election

BBC Radio Cornwall

UKIP says it will only field one candidate in Cornwall in the general election - in Truro and Falmouth.

The party says it has "no wish to stand against the other five sitting MPs in Cornwall who are all pro Brexit and who we campaigned with during the referendum campaign and who support our views on the EU".

The UKIP candidate for Truro and Falmouth Duncan Odgers said it would be "silly for the party to risk losing Brexit orientated MPs to either the Liberal Democrats or possibly even Labour".

He will compete for the seat against Conservative Sarah Newton, Labour's Jane Kirkham, Rob Nolan for the Liberal Democrats and the Green Party's Amanda Pennington.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate Sarah Newton
, have the following results:
  • 22,681 total votes taken.
  • 44.0% share of the total vote
  • +2.3% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Simon Rix
, have the following results:
  • 8,681 total votes taken.
  • 16.8% share of the total vote
  • -24.0% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Stuart Roden
, have the following results:
  • 7,814 total votes taken.
  • 15.2% share of the total vote
  • +5.5% change in share of the votes
, with candidate John Hyslop
, have the following results:
  • 5,967 total votes taken.
  • 11.6% share of the total vote
  • +7.7% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Karen Westbrook
, have the following results:
  • 4,483 total votes taken.
  • 8.7% share of the total vote
  • +6.9% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Loic Rich
, have the following results:
  • 792 total votes taken.
  • 1.5% share of the total vote
  • +1.5% change in share of the votes
Mebyon Kernow
, with candidate Stephen Richardson
, have the following results:
  • 563 total votes taken.
  • 1.1% share of the total vote
  • -1.0% change in share of the votes
National Health Action
, with candidate Rik Evans
, have the following results:
  • 526 total votes taken.
  • 1.0% share of the total vote
  • +1.0% change in share of the votes
The Principles Of Politics Party
, with candidate Stanley Guffogg
, have the following results:
  • 37 total votes taken.
  • 0.1% share of the total vote
  • +0.1% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top