UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Devon West & Torridge

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Geoffrey Cox
    • Votes: 35,904
    • Vote share %: 60.1
    • Vote share change: +3.6
  2. Liberal Democrat
    David Chalmers
    • Votes: 10,912
    • Vote share %: 18.3
    • Vote share change: +0.6
  3. Labour
    Siobhan Strode
    • Votes: 10,290
    • Vote share %: 17.2
    • Vote share change: -4.5
  4. Green
    Chris Jordan
    • Votes: 2,077
    • Vote share %: 3.5
    • Vote share change: +0.8
  5. Independent
    Bob Wootton
    • Votes: 547
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 24,992
  • Registered voters: 80,403
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +0.3

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 60.1%
Liberal Democrat 18.3%
Labour 17.2%
Green 3.5%
Independent 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +3.6 Gained
  • Independent +0.9 Gained
  • Green +0.8 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +0.6 Gained
  • Labour -4.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Devon West & Torridge: Conservative hold

Attorney General Geoffrey Cox has been re-elected as the MP for Devon West & Torridge, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat David Chalmers by 24,992 votes, 4,306 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Siobhan Strode of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Chris Jordan came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 1 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 60,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Chris Jordan (Green) and Bob Wootton (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Conservatives hold Devon West & Torridge

Chris Quevatre

BBC News Online

Conservative MP Geoffrey Cox has held his seat in Devon West & Torridge.

Election 2019 Devon: Torridge and West Devon

Andrew Segal

BBC South West


The rural seat of Torridge and West Devon is the largest geographically in the county, including a few places some think may be in the North Devon constituency, including Bideford and Appledore.

Other famous Devon town and village names also reside in the constituency, including Buckland Monachorum, Clovelly (pictured), Great Torrington, Tavistock, and Westward Ho!

There is bound to be multitude of industries with such a large area, and business interests include: agriculture, defence, hospitality and tourism, construction, engineering and some fishing.

Torridge and West Devon statistics

Seen as a Conservative-Liberal Democrat marginal for many years, the constituency was staunchly Conservative until the defection of sitting Tory MP Emma Nicholson to the Liberal Democrats in 1995.

Lib Dem John Burnett took over in 1997 until 2005, when incumbent Conservative Geoffrey Cox seized it back.

You can find out more about the area's candidates and previous election results here.

General Election 2019: South West turnouts so far

Estimates and confirmed figures from across Devon and Cornwall:

  • Cornwall North - 74.2%
  • Cornwall South East 75%
  • Newton Abbot - 73%
  • North Devon - 73.5%
  • Plymouth Sutton and Devonport 68.48%
  • Torbay - 67.38%
  • Totnes - 74.97%
  • Torridge and West Devon - 74.58%
  • Truro and Falmouth - 77%

General Election 2019: Jo Swinson on the South West

Andrew Segal

BBC South West

Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson said during a trip to Cornwall that her party could be the one that caused big problems for Boris Johnson as he sought a parliamentary majority.

Jo Swinson quote

General Election 2019: Jeremy Corbyn on the South West

Andrew Segal

BBC South West

Housing is, of course, a hot topic nationally.

In the South West, many areas have high house prices and high rents, which coupled with the region's low salaries causes many difficulties for people just trying to keep a roof over their head.

Jeremy Corbyn addressed some of these problems during a campaigning visit to Falmouth.

Jeremy Corbyn in Falmouth

General Election 2019: Boris Johnson on the South West

Andrew Segal

BBC South West

Boris Johnson in a hpsital in Cornwall
PA Media
Boris Johnson's visits to the South West included this appearance at West Cornwall Hospital in Penzance

The prime minister and Conservative Party leader was interviewed several times during visits to the South West.

This is some of what he said about the region and what his party planned to deliver:

  • On the NHS after being questioned on hospitals frequently being on high alert and having to turn away patients: "We are putting in the biggest cash boost in memory... but there is more to do."
  • On improving train lines in the South West, particularly on the main line on the coast at Dawlish, which can be susceptible to bad weather: "We will put in the £80m needed to fix the line at Dawlish that is needed and come up with a proper long-term solution."
  • On fishing: "We will absolutely maximize the interests of fishermen in the South West and across the whole of the UK."
  • On the South West Water rebate of £50 a year per customer because SWW bills are the highest in Britain: "We're committed to funding through the whole of the next Parliament."

Election 2019: South West results times estimations

Hayley Westcott

BBC News Online

As the ballot boxes arrive at the counts throughout the South West, estimations for when results will be in are also being predicted:

  • Camborne and Redruth: 01:00
  • Newton Abbot: 02:00
  • Exeter: 03:30
  • Tiverton and Honiton: 05:00
  • Torridge and West Devon: 05:00
  • Truro and Falmouth: 02:00

Ballot box

Election 2019: Devon's constituencies

Andrew Segal

BBC South West

Devon is to return 12 MPs in total.

The are nine parliamentary constituencies in the Devon County Council area, plus another three in the county's unitary authority areas.

The Devon County constituencies are:

  • Central Devon
  • East Devon
  • Exeter
  • North Devon
  • Newton Abbot
  • South West Devon
  • Tiverton and Honiton
  • Torridge and West Devon
  • Totnes

Plymouth, one unitary authority area and the largest urban area in the county, has two MPs: Plymouth Moor View and Plymouth Sutton and Devonport.

Devon's other unitary council area is Torbay, which will be sending one person to Parliament.